Best Day Yet!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

My day began waiting in line to get wait list tickets to Like Crazy. Luckily the 2 hour wait paid off and we got into the Library Theater to see the film, which turned out to be my favorite film of the festival thus far.  To summarize this romantic drama, it involves an American boy who falls in love with a British girl and she ends up overextending her visa leaving difficulties ahead in their long distance relationship.  The movie shows love in its purest form.  So many audience members spoke about how realistic the movie was and during the Q&A we learned that the crew was able to achieve this realism by keeping the cameras rolling for sometimes 30 minutes at a time when the actors were improving.   Another reason the film was so strong was that this was the crew’s third film they’ve worked on together.  They said their collaboration in all that they’ve worked on has made them a stronger more efficient team.  The highlight of seeing this film was afterwards when I approached John Guleserian, the director of photography.  It was the first time I was able to speak to a real DP.  This was a monumental moment for me because I am an aspiring DP.  I was so eager to learn from a real DP’s experience and gain knowledge from him.

After lunch, Leigh, Michel, and I went to see Rebirth a documentary made over the span of 10 years that followed the lives of 5 people affected by 9/11 and their healing process.  It was my favorite film I’ve ever seen related to the subject of 9/11 because it focused on the most important part about that day, the victims and how it changed lives forever.  One of my favorite parts of the film was that it shared the perspectives of 5 completely different people (a mother who was trapt in the WTC and suffered severe burns, a firefighter who lost a friend, a wife who lost her husband, a ground zero coordinator, and a son who lost his mother).  Technically, I loved how the film had permanent cameras set up for 9 years constantly recording the reconstruction process of ground zero.  They used these hours of footage to capture the sight being rebuilt overtime in many time lapses showing different seasons and weather conditions.  Afterwards, the crew spoke about the film at the Q&A and also brought up two of the main subjects, which was really neat experience.  When the Q&A ended, I walked straight up to Tom Lappin, the director of photography.  I wanted to see if I could test my luck with talking to another DP in the same day, but this time getting the perspective of a documentary DP.  He was very nice and gave me his card.  After emailing him, he gladly accepted coming to our house for an interview.  I can’t wait to hear what he has to share with us!

– Will Anderson

About The Spirit of Sundance

A group of Elon University students experiencing the Sundance Film Festival in Park City, Utah.
This entry was posted in Director, Documentary, Sundance Film Festival and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

