Picky-picky

Much like the cat in Beverly Cleary’s “Ramona” series, I am incredibly picky about pretty much everything. Some might call it snobby, some might call it discerning: I tend to call it picky.

Take food. I’m a picky eater about normal stuff like fruit. I don’t like strawberries. But I do like weird things like Brussels sprouts. And I used to hate bananas, but now eat two a day. Or corn, which I refuse to eat. Things like that.

I am even pickier and stranger about movies. I have more rules about what I don’t like than what I do. I don’t like…

  • Horror
  • Crime dramas (without humor)
  • Assault or harassment of women and children
  • Sad movies
  • Angry movies
  • Movies about ennui
  • Bad comedy movies

I do like:

  • Humor and comedy
  • Animated movies
  • Documentaries (most of them)
  • Surreal /sci-fi movies

This leaves me a bit high and dry when I come to find out that some of my Sundance tickets are for films I can’t get to. This is the second day that’s happened to me. Yesterday I wanted to see “The Last Mountain” but was thwarted by transportation (or the lack thereof) to Salt Lake City. Today I was out to see “When A Tree Falls…” but couldn’t make it to Sundance Resort. Incidentally, both films are environmental documentaries. Funny how that works.

But, I went to exchange these tickets and found that I want to see literally NONE of the movies left that haven’t sold out. Yes, Lauren, you can do waitlist for some of them, but seriously, I don’t want to see lots of them.

Take “Like Crazy.” I’ve been told it’s great and everything, but I don’t particularly want to watch relationship drama unfold on the big screen. I never have been interested in that sort of thing. “Gun Hill Road” features marital infidelity, as does “Happy, Happy.” I know I can’t escape all of these things in movies, but I really, really don’t want to watch them if I can help it.

So far I’ve seen one film and am going to see one more tonight. This makes me well behind all of my classmates and professors when it comes to seeing films, and I’m okay with that. I’d rather see films that I have a desire to see than sit through hours of cinema that holds no interest for me or that actively repulses me. That’s just my two cents. I’d certainly value any input about possibly getting over my pickiness.

-Lauren

 

About The Spirit of Sundance

A group of Elon University students experiencing the Sundance Film Festival in Park City, Utah.
This entry was posted in Sundance Film Festival and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Picky-picky

  1. halfwayto50 says:

    Like you, I’m incredibly picky with both my food and my movies. I WILL NOT watch horror or movies involving any sort of abuse. It just strikes a chord with me and I can’t watch it without cringing. How cool to be at the film festival! I’m an E News junkie and have been hearing a lot about it this week. I’m excited to see what the Olsen’s sister does in the future! She seems great!

Leave a Reply

