The Sundance Experience with limited movies? I guess so!

What to say that hasn’t been said about the “Sundance Experience” that hasn’t been said yet? It’s beautiful in Park City with the snow falling outside these huge picture windows in our mansion of a house; the movie(s) have all been if not great, discussion worthy; the class is awesome.

I have only seen one movie since I’ve been here, the tongue-twistingly named “Catechism Cataclysm.” It’s a hard film to describe. I liked it, but Paul walked out of it. I also thought it was the most bizarre thing I’ve ever seen, no hyperbole. It’s at one point a buddy comedy, a coming-of-age type and magical realism all smooshed together in a fast-paced movie about a priest with a heavy-metal soundtrack.

I spent most of the time wandering around town after that, another thing I plan on doing today. More than seeing films, to me the “Sundance Experience” has been about just exploring. I enjoy people watching and walking, particularly in the winter wonderland surrounding Park City.

Today I’m trying to get to “If A Tree Falls…” about the Earth Liberation Front (it’s in Sundance Resort, so it might be a trip to get there) and “Shut Up Little Man!” (much closer in Park City.)

But, before then, I’m going to go walk in the snow. Probably alone (don’t tell Paul or Ray… buddy system, you know). But, if anyone wants to join me, feel free!

-Lauren

About The Spirit of Sundance

A group of Elon University students experiencing the Sundance Film Festival in Park City, Utah.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

